Ana Sayfa Arama Galeri Video Yazarlar
Üyelik
Üye Girişi
Yayın/Gazete
Yayınlar
Kategoriler
Servisler
Nöbetçi Eczaneler Sayfası Nöbetçi Eczaneler Hava Durumu Puan Durumu
WhatsApp
Sosyal Medya
Uygulamamızı İndir

Appeal clarifies Mark-Room definition

Dave Perry, Chair of the US Sailing Appeals Committee, puts

Dave Perry, Chair of the US Sailing Appeals Committee, puts an end to many commonly debated scenarios at the marks:


The US Sailing Appeals Committee recently published an interpretation and application of the new definition Mark-Room in several common scenarios which are often debated. It is Appeal 130.

One scenario is at a port-hand windward or offset mark going onto a run. The question is: does mark-room include room to gybe onto port before leaving the mark astern? The answer is No. Another scenario is two port-tack boats, PL and PW, approaching a port-hand windward mark in the zone. The question is: does mark-room continue to “protect” PW after she passes head to wind? The answer is No.

Another scenario is two boats, A and B, rounding a leeward mark to begin a windward leg. A is clear ahead of B when she reaches the zone. B sails in between A and the mark. A luffs up to head to wind to “shut the door” causing B to touch the mark, breaking rule 16.1. The question is: does mark-room include luffing up to head to wind, in which case A is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) for breaking rule 16.1. The answer is No.

To read the complete document with diagrams, click here.

SCUTTLEBUTT News Link !
DemirHindiSG 28 Haziran 2025-17:03